What's new

N64 Emulation 'nOObie' FAQ Guide

L

Lachp30

Recently, I have noticed the boards cluttered with absolute nOObie questions which can be found easly in places such as the emulatos help, FAQ and from other similar posts. Thats why I have compiled this small FAQ/Q&A for newbies to n64 emulation to browse, and hopefully answer their question.

What is an emulator?

An emulator, in very basic terms, is a program that can emulate ROM images. It basically enables one to play a treasured N64 game on their PC.

Where can I get ROMS?

The location of ROMS is not (under any circumstances) given out on this forum, due to legal matters. You will need to locate them yourself.

I have a ROM and an emulator, however, the game wont run. Why?

Does your computer meet the minimum system requirements for n64 emulation?
Check the emulators help section to see what it requires. Most 64 emu's need the following requirements as their minimum.

P3, 600MHZ
128MB RAM. 256MB or better is ideal
NVidia GeForce 2 Series or newer
Microsoft WindowsXP

Which emulator should I choose?

N64 emu's are at all different stages of develoment, but Nemu64, Project 64 and 1964 are faviourites for some people. Plus, Project 64 has a game FAQ.

Game 'x' doesn't work when I use Project64, or I get an error, Please help!

I can't stress this enough. Read the Project64 game FAQ for errors in games. It also tells you which games are compatible, and which are not.

Where can I find out what type of graphics card I have?

Right click on your desktop, go to properties, then settings, then it is written under, Display

Where can I get the latest DIRECTX?

www.microsoft.com - shudder,shudder

Where can I go for all my emulator download needs?

www.Emulation64.com

Are emulators free?

Yes, however, for further development on these great pieces of software, there are places on the homepage of certain emulators in which you can donate via PayPal.

Last edited:

jollyrancher