What's new

Networking prob

yogaman

Banned
Well, my OS is still Windows 98 and I've got pretty bad problems to establish a connection to my laptop! This is kinda strange coz it should be quite simple: I've got the same Domain , using Microsoft Internet Client, all files have been made available and I checked the IP-A. Now, it just doesn't work!!!! I heard that networking on OS 98 or older would be more complicated than on XP or so....... does anybody know how to get the crap to work?? I've checked all the help files but no answers, still :(

thx

OP
yogaman

yogaman

Banned
no not a hub - that doesn't work for a dual connection - the other one (ummm.... how do you call it the "crossed one", I guess it's called router! Don't tell me nobody networked with 98 !!!!!!

Josep

eyerun4phun
i for one didn't!:( Sorry, I'm pretty sure you have a router, how much did you pay for it and stuff? im not an expert;) obviously, just trying to help a bit

Eagle

aka Alshain
Did somebody call for an expert? Well, I'm not one, but I come pretty close.

Some Hub/Switch/Routers/Network Cards have difficulty communicating over the TCP/IP protocol with another local computer (mine does too). Whats the solution? Install another protocol. Don't delete the TCP/IP, but install the Microsoft IPX/SPX compatible protocol on both computers (Its real easy, just add it and its almost done configuring. Then open the properties for that protocol and tick the box next to "Enable NetBios over IPX/SPX....etc" and click ok. Finally make sure you enable file and printer sharing, and make sure you have a firewall if your on a broadband connection, cause once youve enabled it, your a target to would be hackers. You should end up with something like this.

OP
yogaman

yogaman

Banned