What's new

Newbie questions (CHDs, BIOS, AW)

Neville

Hello there. I'm a newbie to DCEmul and I have a few questions.

1) What are *exactly* the BIOS files needed? Note that I'm not asking where to get them, just the name of the files and what they do. Right now I have a DC.ZIP for DC emulation and I've copied all BIOS files from MAME to the ROMs folder, but I still get missing file errors her and there.

2) For Naomi / Naomi2 emulation, I'm using romsets + CHD from Mame. Are they supported? Where I'm expected to place the CHDs? I've followed a guide from another website to convert the CHDs to BINs using a Mame Developer's version, but that doesn't seem to work.

3) Are AW games playable? I've tried a couple, and they make it to demo, but then I can't insert coin(s) to play, despite having configured the JAMMA controller.

4) Can I have a RomCenter datfile for this emu? The one at Logiqx is outdated, and I want to see if my romsets are 100% compatible.

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
1) The file 1_01d_01.bin is the BIOS for "v1.01d [1998, 1999]". Other are named 1_004_01.bin, 1_011_01.bin, and 1_01d_02.bin repectively. The contents of Dc.dat verify this. If you still get errors, extract the BIOs files from the archive to the Demul directory.
2) Yes, they are supported, but IIRC, need to be encrypted or decrypted (forgot which). They go into the roms directory, just like all the other game files.
3) I can't answer this.
4) Probably not. Although I wouldn't be too surprised if one pops up sooner or later.

Last edited:
OP
N

Neville

Alright, then, how do I decrypt / encrypt those CHDs and what do I do with the resulting files?

OP
N

Neville

BTW, #3 solved, apparently I didn't notice there's a separate menu to configure AW controllers. Duh

OP
N

Neville