What's new

Widescreen Aspect Ratios

Kung Fu Jesus

I remember reading a while back that there was some intent to support widescreen aspect ratios by somehow altering the game's perspective a little. I am very much for this idea now that I have my 1080p 50" Kuro. I noticed however that there are still only 4:3 resolutions. Now when I pick 1920x1440 I just get a pretty hefty cropping from the top and bottom. How far away are we from widescreen aspect ratios and what would it take? Do you need a tester? I'm a novice when it comes to low level C, but I'm more than willing to be walked through or stumble through a debugger (haven't tried the new mupen one yet, but it sounds like a pretty basic visual debugger). I'm running this on Linux by the way, have been grabbing the svn trunk for over a year now and am loving the progress.

thatmariolover

I don't think all of the current video plug-ins are being actively worked on. I assume that eventually one or two will have widescreen support but I sort of doubt that it's a priority. I think something with the viewport has to be modified to avoid distortion but I'm no expert. Hope it comes eventually though.

Last edited:

Günther1

How far away are we from widescreen aspect ratios and what would it take? Do you need a tester?

I've a port of the Glide64 widescreen support in the GlideHQ branch at http://repo.or.cz/w/Glide64.git. It lacks GUI configuration support and I think it just puts black stripes on the side - I haven't tested because I've lost my patience with the fglrx driver and the mesa driver doesn't support GLSL on radeons, so I've put Majoras Mask back on my list of the games I'll play some day. (Glide64 needs GLSL for some special effects.)

But maybe the Glide64 upstream developers have added support for true widescreen viewports by now?

roger6106