What's new

Internet Multiplayer?

Tillin9

Mupen64Plus Dev.
Its on the todo list, but currently not a priority. Netplay won't be in 1.4 (which should be coming soon) and probably not in 1.5 either. Sorry.

OP
O

orbitaldecay

No apologies necessary, I'm a programmer and I was considering tinkering with it myself, I was just wondering if anyone else already had the idea in the works. :bouncy:

Tillin9

Mupen64Plus Dev.
Well then, let me be the first to say welcome aboard. :) As far as dev. progress on netplay, Okaygo had been responsible for the Mupen64k netplay build using kaillera. Sadly he lost the source and open kaillera does not seem to have a bright future due to license issues with the new kaillera owner.

To that end, it was suggested we pick another cross-platform netplay library. I wasn't aware of any, but Slougi knew of a few and gave me some links in IRC. Since I'm not a networking expert, nor really in a position to test which was better, I decided to focus my efforts elsewhere.

I'd suggest you help with the porting efforts since if we have a single codebase building and working (to some degree) on all three major platforms (Linux, Win32, and OSX) we'd be in a better situation to evaluate and implement netplay.

OP
O

orbitaldecay

Yes, I've been looking over the source from the svn and I was thinking SDL_net might be a nice choice being as that mupen already uses SDL for input and video

nmn

Mupen64Plus Dev.
To be honest, SDL_Net is actually a pretty bad networking library - Using Win32 and POSIX sockets seperately may be better, because they are very alike. Nonetheless, SDL_Net does have everything we need (I think) so it can be done.

OP
O

orbitaldecay

Yeah, win32 and posix sockets aren't difficult to port between either, the function names are mostly the same. What issues with SDL_net have you experienced and/or heard of?

Tillin9

Mupen64Plus Dev.