What's new

Who wants to help with a osx port?

Danny

Programmer | Moderator
I just got myself a mac mini ::)

There is a slight problem though...................Unless your willing to pay 10 euros to make sixtyforce usable (ie savestates etc) then your pretty much out of luck if you want to emulate the n64 on a new mac mini.

So who else wants to help me port mupen64 plus to osx?

I don't have time to do it all myself but if a few of us got together it would be possible.

nmn

Mupen64Plus Dev.
Mupen64Plus will probably not make it to the PPC platform, but I don't know exactly. More luck with Intel Macs.

I'm running an Intel Mini with Leopard so am willing to help, but I've no experience in programing so would only really be able to help in the testing of it.

Although I can do you some nice graphics for it if that helps.

OP
Danny

Danny

Programmer | Moderator
Forgot to clarify.

I am only planning on a port to macs that are using intel processors.

Nevexst

Mupen64Plus Groupie
Is there any chance of a Universal build?

I'm in a similar predicament with Zion. 'cept I have a Powerbook G4 with plenty of life left in it. So any love thrown our way would be overwhelmingly appreciated.

Last edited:

nmn

Mupen64Plus Dev.
Very unlikely due to large amounts of byteswapping and assembly code issues we'll run into. You'll need a powerful CPU to run the emulation without a native recompiler, also.

DarkJezter

Funny story on this, I just got my hands on an old G4 (it's slow but functional) that is PPC based. I've put OSX on it for the sole purpose of trying to set up a native osx port, I haven't yet got ANY experience with Xcode, so I'll be learning as I go along.

Hopefully the differences between intel and ppc shouldn't prevent us from collaborating on this :)

okaygo

Mupen64Plus Dev.
It would be a good idea if you all got onto IRC, irc.freenode.net #mupen64plus

Lots of people there to collaborate with.

lifning