PDA

View Full Version : n00b, with a n00b question....



BlingBGBling
February 24th, 2002, 06:44
hey just got a new dell fresh out of the box.. ATI rage Pro.. 1.5 ghz...PJ runs well...but everygame i play some of the graphics are messed up for example...conquers bfd some of the characters are black..same with mario...and with zelda some models are balck and zelda has white outfit on.....help me please...

sytaylor
February 24th, 2002, 06:59
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
hey just got a new dell fresh out of the box.. ATI rage Pro..

i read that far and slapped my forhead... i know you said n00b... but dell... ATI Rage Pro?! My good man you have been thouroughly shafted, slap a geforce 2MX in there, that'll sort you out :) if notdownload new drivers, get the latest version of direct x, etc etc...

dell...

i mean...

ATI Rage Pro...

*leaves room in disgust*

2fast4u
February 24th, 2002, 07:17
wot he wants to say i ur gfx card sucks so that is basically ur problem. :(

no offense sy, i just couldnt resist. ;)

BlingBGBling
February 24th, 2002, 10:39
etc doesnt help...i got the new rage drivers...XP says directX is upto date still black models....

CpU MasteR
February 24th, 2002, 11:23
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
hey just got a new dell fresh out of the box.. ATI rage Pro.. 1.5 ghz...PJ runs well...but everygame i play some of the graphics are messed up for example...conquers bfd some of the characters are black..same with mario...and with zelda some models are balck and zelda has white outfit on.....help me please...

Heck, I have the same thing, Dont bother me...

Ogy
February 24th, 2002, 12:53
Try to check "Change blending mode if invalid for video card" under Options>cofigure Graphics plugin>Emulation tab i'm not sure it will solve your problem but it might help.

BlingBGBling
February 24th, 2002, 21:24
change blending mode doesnt work....???

2fast4u
February 24th, 2002, 21:47
ppl, i mean ... really ... its a rage pro ... for crying out loud ...

BlingBGBling
February 24th, 2002, 22:13
sorry not everyone is as perfect as you.....i guess im gonna have to scrub up some money for this geforce thing...

2fast4u
February 24th, 2002, 22:15
no sarcasm please ... but thats just the way it is. the rage pro is based on a chip that was released in (i think) '98 which the ported on agp. and i cant understand why dell but that thing in a 1.5ghz machine.

Remote
February 24th, 2002, 22:21
Originally posted by 2fast4u
no sarcasm please ... but thats just the way it is. the rage pro is based on a chip that was released in (i think) '98 which the ported on agp. and i cant understand why dell but that thing in a 1.5ghz machine.

It is a OEM computer and ATI sells most of their graphic ships in OEM computers, mainly trough Dell, Gateway and Compaq. And the ATI Rage and the ATI Rage PRO graphics chips are probaly older then that.

2fast4u
February 24th, 2002, 22:26
Originally posted by Remote


It is a OEM computer and ATI sells most of their graphic ships in OEM computers, mainly trough Dell, Gateway and Compaq. And the ATI Rage and the ATI Rage PRO graphics chips are probaly older then that.

lemee see, im not sure ... ati rage3d -> ati rage II -> ati rage II+ (and a bunch other revisions too like rage IIc) -> rage pro. the rage3d was released in '97 about the same time as the s3 virge.

Smiff
February 24th, 2002, 22:30
this is seriously bad of Dell to be selling those cards in 2002.. i think the design dates from 1996 (btw, same year N64 was released here)... 6 years old people... wrong wrong wrong to be selling it now!

2fast4u
February 24th, 2002, 22:38
Originally posted by Smiff
this is seriously bad of Dell to be selling those cards in 2002.. i think the design dates from 1996 (btw, same year N64 was released here)... 6 years old people... wrong wrong wrong to be selling it now!

yep, 1996 is right smiff. i found it on ati's site (omg! 2 megs of memory!).

http://support.ati.com/products/pc/ragei/ragei_3dxpression.html

the rage pro is 1997 but has several other revisions in 98.

Ogy
February 25th, 2002, 01:53
you know, now that i think of it the pic looks a little like how my voodoo 3 looked be4 i used Mr. bollywood's fix.

if you're really desperate it wouldn't hurt to try DirectControl.

sytaylor
February 25th, 2002, 03:54
Originally posted by Smiff
this is seriously bad of Dell to be selling those cards in 2002.. i think the design dates from 1996 (btw, same year N64 was released here)... 6 years old people... wrong wrong wrong to be selling it now!

see, his first mistake was buying from an OEM:blush:

how about we all give him a group hug and let him off... as soon as he gets hold of a geforce 2mx ;)

BlingBGBling
February 25th, 2002, 04:16
whats directcontrol

Tri-Force
February 25th, 2002, 05:50
if "dude you're getting a Dell" then "Dude you're getting SCREWED!!!"

IceLord
February 25th, 2002, 10:50
that wasn't very helpfull Tri-Force,

Bling,
you can find a good tutorial for directcontrol here http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/d021098.html

Ogy
February 25th, 2002, 23:35
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
whats directcontrol


here's the link (http://www.emuxhaven.net/emuxhaven/n64/extra/setup_dcontrol.exe) install it, run it and disable advance AGP (i doubt it will work though)

Squall Leonhart
February 28th, 2002, 02:31
BlingBGBling I had a Rage 128 and I had the same problem.
I tried everything but I couldn't fix It so I bought myself a GeForce 2 MX and now I' saved. With 1.5 GhZ you should get a kickazz preformance in Pj64.... go for that (when you have tha $ :D )


PS: Everybody, Dell ain't that bad....are they?

2fast4u
February 28th, 2002, 03:07
Originally posted by Squall Leonhart

PS: Everybody, Dell ain't that bad....are they?

no they r not bad. considering i HATE pre-assembled systems i was very positively suprised by the dells. none the less, its outrageous to still sell old graphics boards like the rage pro with their CURRENT comps. :angry:

Squall Leonhart
February 28th, 2002, 03:10
Yes, its sad....???

BlingBGBling
February 28th, 2002, 09:30
no what happened was my father bought it for my b-day...and seeing 1.5 ghz he though it was fine...so when asked about a ram and video update he has no clue and says no....my ram is 128 and the video card...um yea sux....i've been doing soundom.com to try to get some money out of them to get a new video card then some more ram.. :) ...cheating honest companies rules...

B*A*G*G
March 2nd, 2002, 04:52
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
hey just got a new dell fresh out of the box.. ATI rage Pro.. 1.5 ghz...PJ runs well...but everygame i play some of the graphics are messed up for example...conquers bfd some of the characters are black..same with mario...and with zelda some models are balck and zelda has white outfit on.....help me please...
who the hell sold you your dell?
as far as i know dell dosent distribute ati cards

BlingBGBling
March 4th, 2002, 08:13
DELL....

CpU MasteR
March 4th, 2002, 10:02
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
DELL....

Dont get me started on Dell, ****ing *******s. I am One right now & trust me, Dell can ****ing suck my ****. You should have got a gateway. At least they give you everything in a tower, not some tiny onboard, USB intigrated, Color coded peice of **** they call a top of the line computer. :******:

B*A*G*G
March 4th, 2002, 10:40
you get what you pay for dude.

BlingBGBling
March 5th, 2002, 01:03
umm all it is...is the video card....not something to get all crazy about...

sytaylor
March 5th, 2002, 01:29
sod oems go custom built, or at least get it built by an indie :D

Lex
March 5th, 2002, 01:32
Originally posted by BlingBGBling
hey just got a new dell fresh out of the box.. ATI rage Pro.. 1.5 ghz...PJ runs well...but everygame i play some of the graphics are messed up for example...conquers bfd some of the characters are black..same with mario...and with zelda some models are balck and zelda has white outfit on.....help me please...

i've got the same thing to with a 3dfx voodoo banshee

Goku
March 5th, 2002, 06:57
I like DELLMIO on ma Spagetti :devil:

Seriously ****in ATI rage with a 1.5 GHz.

I had a ATI Xpert 2000 in 1999 (came out then) and it was based on the Rage chip and was 32mb. That sucker served me well but 1 month later I found out its limitations :******:

I bought a GeForce 3 last year and N64 emulation is as sw33t as :pj64: :alien:

PS: Amiga 0wnz! :pj64: ???

trentadams
March 7th, 2002, 08:50
Ok the same thing happened to me. I had ver1.3 though. So first i upgraded to 1.4. then I think i went to Options>Configure Graphics Plugin then the emulation tab. I checked the box that says change blending mode if invalid for memory card. That pretty much fixed it. Although i got problems with sprite transparency not working in Zelda(mabe others, I basically just play Zelda though) so you might not want to listen to me, cause I'm a n00b too.:cool:

trentadams
March 7th, 2002, 08:52
When i said i upgraded from 1.3 to 1.4 i was talking about pj64 version of course
:pj64:

Tri-Force
March 7th, 2002, 22:41
Originally posted by CpU MasteR


Dont get me started on Dell, ****ing *******s. I am One right now & trust me, Dell can ****ing suck my ****. You should have got a gateway. At least they give you everything in a tower, not some tiny onboard, USB intigrated, Color coded peice of **** they call a top of the line computer. :******:

sorry but Gateway SUCKS HARD SWALLOWS THROWS UP AND SWALLOWS AGAIN. MY GATEWAY CAME WITH AN ATI Rage 128 . Not even the pro just the regular crappy card.

2fast4u
March 8th, 2002, 04:28
Originally posted by Tri-Force


sorry but Gateway SUCKS HARD SWALLOWS THROWS UP AND SWALLOWS AGAIN. MY GATEWAY CAME WITH AN ATI Rage 128 . Not even the pro just the regular crappy card.

who said gateway was better ... ??? oems suck in general in my opinion, hp, dell, compaq, gateway, they r all alike. trying to sell u cheap comps with a fast cpu and a ****ty gfx board and too few ram and bait u with winxp home edition. *******s. :angry: