PDA

View Full Version : Batch Processing PNGs in Photoshop... help!



Weatherton
September 15th, 2005, 20:55
I've been trying to cut the animation images for my MagiKoopa model using a batch process in photoshop. However, I'm having trouble because PS always opens the images as .psd files rather than .pngs. Does anyone know how to change this? I've tried including an "open as" action in my recorded action but this did nothing... in fact I really can't get this batch processing to work the way I think it should and when I think it's working, it doesn't save anything!

Can someone write up a quick tutorial on how to open a folder full of pngs, perform an action (I want to crop out the bottom half of the images) and then save them in the same, 32bit .png format?

:angry:

Sirmatto
September 16th, 2005, 03:58
I've been trying to cut the animation images for my MagiKoopa model using a batch process in photoshop. However, I'm having trouble because PS always opens the images as .psd files rather than .pngs. Does anyone know how to change this? I've tried including an "open as" action in my recorded action but this did nothing... in fact I really can't get this batch processing to work the way I think it should and when I think it's working, it doesn't save anything!

Can someone write up a quick tutorial on how to open a folder full of pngs, perform an action (I want to crop out the bottom half of the images) and then save them in the same, 32bit .png format?

:angry:
Not too sure, but you might try Irfanview (also get the plugin for .psd if one exists). It has a pretty nice batch conversion. If a .psd plugin doesn't exist for Irfanview, just ignore me...

Weatherton
September 16th, 2005, 08:17
Turns out I was doing it correctly but PS 7.0 doesn't really like 32bit pngs... I used PS CS on a lab computer here at UVA and got it to work :)