What's new

Dreamcast newbie - the original discs?

alex_ncfc

Ok, so i knew Dreamcast games can't be read in standard CD drives because they are GDs, but my brothers gone out and bought a (cheap) game (WWF Royal Rumble, which is very compatible according to the lists) even though I said the drive won't read it beforehand. The thing is, he's now p*ssed off because it won't read in the drive. I'm totally new to this as well, so was wondering if its ok to ask, how the heck do you get ISO images from the discs onto the hard drives?? Also, does anyone think an upcoming version of Chankast will have some kind of built in suppport for GD-Roms, or maybe someone is creating a GD-Rom driver for normal drives? I dont have a dreamcast, and my brother bought the game solely for the emulator :rolleyes: - is it worth hanging onto - ie - do you think it will be possible to play from the original discs in the future?

Cheers

dreamer

Also, does anyone think an upcoming version of Chankast will have some kind of built in suppport for GD-Roms
you really don't know much do you? it is not the emulator that cannot read the disks, it reads dreamcast game data fine, it is the cd-rom/dvd-rom drive which CANNOT READ THE GD-ROM DISK. no matter what, the data on one of these gd-roms is tightly compressed into a small read area and there is absolutely no way in hell you well get the game to run unless you rip the game data off the disk in another way, use a google search to find out.

OP
A

alex_ncfc