What's new

ARH! my new pc won't even BOOT UP! HELP!

Josep

eyerun4phun
I am NOT a newbie with putting pc's together and this seems to be a very big prob, for me anyway, got a KR7A-raid athlon xp, 256ddr ram 2400, 250 watt power supply, all that happens is the yellow light turns on when i turn the power supply on, then press the start up button and the red and green lights flicker once really quickly, and that is all, the fans do not turn on, the power supply does not turn on, and basically no sound from the motherboard that shows that it is on, please, any input would be good, i have gotten to the point of unplugging everything and trying it and still no luck, any input!!::cry:

DrGoggle

Yeah. It sounds like a screwy mobo. If it was just the drive or memory, the fan would at least spin, wouldn't it?

2fast4u

actually ... isn't the power supply too weak for an athlon? i thought u need a 300 watt supply, can anyone confirm this?

OP
Josep

Josep

eyerun4phun
yeah, i guess its just a crapped up motheboard, i really don't know what else to try, nothing on the board seems to show me it even works, the only thing is that yellow light that shows that it exists, no sounds, no fans, i dunno...

OP
Josep

Josep

eyerun4phun
hehe, only prob is my friend brought over his 500 watt power supply and still nothing...shit, i don't wanna rma this crap quite yet and have them smash 35 bucks in my face finding out it was fine, hehe, but seriously, i don't know

OP
Josep

Josep

eyerun4phun
what is required to be plugged in to just simply see if the motherboard and the fan, and all that stuff is functional??

Acorn

I killed a Athlon 1.4 this way...
Bad Power supply, everything would flash on for a moment then turn off. Left it on for 30 secs to see one time and had a nasty crackling noise.

Ok: