What's new

Some Questions

Raven

I'm relatively new to N64 emulation, so I apologize if these questions have obvious answers that I missed.

First of all, I have the latest version of 1964 using Jabo's D3D 1.4, azimer's audio .30 (old version), and Jabo's direct input 1.4.

I'm running it on a:
AMD athlon thunderbird 916mhz
Soundblaster PCI 128
512 mb sdram
Geforce 2 MX400 64mb (4/20/01 drivers)
Windows 98 SE

1) What ways is there to make games run faster?

I would think with my system that they would run plenty fast but most games I've tried lag pretty badly (mario 64, clayfighter 63 1/3, zelda OoT, and custom robo to name a few). I read somewhere that changing the CF value might do it, but the games didn't run any faster. I also tried turning off sound to see if they would speed up, but also no results.

2) Is there a way to make 1964 run more stable?

I'll load a game in it. When I get done, I choose the close rom option. But 99% of the time when I try to load another rom, it'll crash horribly with an error in 1964.exe. About 10% of the time, this crash will extend into windows and give me the blue screen of death. I started to exit completely out of 1964 after running a rom and then restarting 1964 to load another rom. But even then, it tends to crash on loading a rom. It's a bit of a pain to have to keep restarting the emulator or the whole computer to play a game.

3) How does one make "playable" games playable in 1964?

There's quite a few games in the ini listed as playable, but they don't run for me. I checked the roms I have with the latest GoodN64 to verify them. For an example, it lists Cruisin USA as a playable title. I also noticed on the compatibility list posted in one of the threads here that the fellow said it was playable. However, when I load it up, I just get a black screen. Happened with all versions of the game. I'm just at a loss.

Any help that can be given is appreciated, thanks. Kudos to the authors of 1964 for all their hard work.