PDA

View Full Version : For Gonetz



Raziel64
February 7th, 2003, 13:05
Hi, first of all, Happy Birthday and congratulations!
A question, can you fix this problem?
(I have a voodoo banshee card)

Raziel64
February 7th, 2003, 13:06
:)

Gonetz
February 7th, 2003, 15:34
Thanks for congratulations :)


A question, can you fix this problem?
I'm afraid, I can't. Or at least not soon. This problem appeared because Banshee does not support multitexturing. I don't find yet how to avoid problems in such situations.

Raziel64
February 7th, 2003, 15:58
Oh, thanks Gonetz.
I`ll try to find some solution for this (a multitexturing emulator tool for Voodoo Banshee or something like this).

cooliscoo
February 7th, 2003, 17:09
Originally posted by Raziel64
Oh, thanks Gonetz.
I`ll try to find some solution for this (a multitexturing emulator tool for Voodoo Banshee or something like this).

Not possible. That would be like trying to "emulate" FSAA on a card that doesn't support it.

The Khan Artist
February 7th, 2003, 19:41
Originally posted by Raziel64
Oh, thanks Gonetz.
I`ll try to find some solution for this (a multitexturing emulator tool for Voodoo Banshee or something like this).

I'm afraid there isn't such a thing. There might be a Glide wrapper that does software multi-texturing, but that would probably make things worse with your Banshee.

You can get a Voodoo 5 5500 off eBay for around $70, though. That's the best solution.

Raziel64
February 7th, 2003, 20:19
Maybe some beta of evoodoo...
Thanks.

Doomulation
February 8th, 2003, 21:53
It's the gfx card that is the source of all this. eVoodoo won't help. Get that newest voodoo card instead. Not too expensive.

linker
March 1st, 2003, 14:56
Originally posted by Doomulation
It's the gfx card that is the source of all this. eVoodoo won't help. Get that newest voodoo card instead. Not too expensive.

Nope.. evodoo doesn't support multitexturing... (so it won't require your card to support it).. maybe you should try.

Doomulation
March 1st, 2003, 20:11
Originally posted by linker
Nope.. evodoo doesn't support multitexturing... (so it won't require your card to support it).. maybe you should try.
If the gfx card doesn't support multi-texturing, a wrapper with multi-texturing won't help. Not even if eVoodoo did support multi-texturing.

euphoria
March 6th, 2003, 12:38
Originally posted by cooliscoo
Not possible. That would be like trying to "emulate" FSAA on a card that doesn't support it.

FSAA can definately be done in software (http://www.hiend3d.com/16xFSAA.html). and so can multitexturing but at what expence? speed.

The Khan Artist
March 6th, 2003, 22:18
Originally posted by euphoria
FSAA can definately be done in software (http://www.hiend3d.com/16xFSAA.html). and so can multitexturing but at what expence? speed.

To do that in software, and still have the rest hardware-accelerated, would incur the same speed loss as frame-buffer reads. In fact, since his base image is 4x as large as the screen in each direction, it would be 16 times slower than a full-resolution frame-buffer read.