What's new

A few questions about game performance

Idonex

Hi,

Firstly i just want to say how good i think PJ64 is. I haven't tried N64 emulation since UltraHLE and it's certainly come on far since then!

Onto some questions. I'll give you my spec first: PIII933, 768Mb, Radeon 8500 (Cat 2.5 drivers), Windows XP SP1.

I'm using the default plugins (older plugin for Mario64 and basic audio for Hydro Thunder), all roms are verified with GoodN64 and i have no background processes. On startup i only have a 40Mb commit charge due to lots of tweaking. I'm running PJ64 fullscreen at 1024x768x32 with AA and Aniso enabled and the same settings but at 800x600 in windowed mode.

1) I have noticed that quite a few games that are green with no issues are very slow. Banjo Tooie and Diddy Kong Racing for example are unplayable. The cut scenes are all 60FPS but in game it's down to about 20FPS. (I haven't reached the puzzle parts yet in BT so i dont mean that). Also it's not the pausing i mean, i fixed that in certain games by using the older video plugin as advised.

Is this likely to be because my PC is too slow for the games or something else? I've noticed disabling AA and aniso and dropping to 640x480 doesn't help.

2) On games that have issues regarding slow speeds or high system specs, will they run at a playable speed on a faster system or is it an emulation issue? I'm planning on getting a 2.5Ghz+ CPU and 512Mb of Dual DDR or 32bit RDRAM (keeping the R8500 for now) and wondered if i could expect an increase in these games (Goldeneye, Perfect Dark etc).

Thanks for any help. I'm going back to play Castlevania :D

supergamer

Banned
If you have an intel with 1,6 ghz (or an AMD with 1,8 ghz), all games will work at screen res. 1280x1024x32. If you have 2,5 ghz they will work perfect.

Trotterwatch

If you have an intel with 1,6 ghz (or an AMD with 1,8 ghz), all games will work at screen res. 1280x1024x32. If you have 2,5 ghz they will work perfect.