What's new

Help!

killthegene

One Kool dude
I really need some help with mupen (actuly its an issue with opengl i think)
anyway all open gl games (including tux racer and cronium and of course mupen) seem to run at a very low fps. I have a GForce 2 and mandrake GPL 9.0 I had the same problem with mandrake 8.2 however an earlier instalation of redhat 7.2 did not. I am using the GForce2 generic drivers that come with mandrake. also i have mupen for windows and it works fine. could some body please help

Hacktarux

Emulator Developer
Default drivers doesn't have opengl support so all your opengl applications are running in software mode actually. You should try to install nvidia proprietary drivers. You can find them in their official web sites. Read carefully all the instructions before trying to install it, and if u have any questions ask it here ;)

OP
killthegene

killthegene

One Kool dude
Thanks for the advice (as you can probally see im a linux newbie)

I was wondering if you are currently working on mupen or if you are concentrating your efforts on UHLE 2

bjl667

C\C++
If your getting slow FPS go to the nvidia sight download the driver source code compile them following the included instructions that should fix your FPS problem.... You need the kernel source code from the cd installed to compile the drivers also...

OP
killthegene

killthegene

One Kool dude
Ive downloaded the drivers (the kernel one i had to download the source for) the instructions say something about the kernel headers and including them however i am not sure what to do. i have never compiled any linux source in my life! (although several windows sources of my own creation)

Hacktarux

Emulator Developer
Ok all you need is to install the kernel headers, it's only one package to install from your distribution. Or if you don't have it, you have to install complete linux source code.

I think it's better to shutdown xwindow while installing it, not sure...